SLEEP IN SUNDAY

 

Today, I allowed myself the luxury of lingering in my warm, cozy bed for some time.  Is is just me? I love doing that, because it’s such a luxury these days.  I am feeling awful tattered lately – so much is keeping me busy with the shop, and with life.  I never thought retirement would be so busy!  But it is, and what’s weird is that I find it hard to put my finger on why I feel like I have a lot less time to do the same things I did when I worked full-time.  It should be the other way around.  I know a good part of it is the shop – I have been waging a campaign to build it as much and as quickly as possible, something I wasn’t doing when I was working.  It just seems like it’s taking away all my free time, and being as deeply creative as I am that’s a slow death.  I need time to create beauty.  Making jewelry helps, but it’s not the same as making art or photography, or reflecting and writing a poem. 

And so I feel pressed.  I need to let that creativity out before it drives me nuts. I miss the smell of paints and gesso sticky fingers, the sound of the brush swooshing over canvas or paper.  I hear the call of art dolls yet to be made –  Halloween prims I’ve been itching to get started with paper and clay worked into small people and creatures.  I would love nothing more than to be able to sit down at my table and make art today, but I can’t.  It’s piled high with jewelry components and by the time I cleared it off and put everything away, the day would already be shot.  *sigh* It will just have to wait.  Besides, I do need to do wash (I am still playing catch up) and some general cleaning.  And, I still have to finish my bathroom – the floor still has to be put down and things moved back in.  I’ve been trying to finish it for 3 months now – first, I got sick.  Then the holiday season kicked in and the shop was the busiest it’s ever been – I was literally up until 3am each night packaging orders for the next day’s mail – then I got sick again, then I got busy with promoting the shop.  Well, maybe this week I’ll just do it, as Nike says. 

I’ve decided today is going to be a day for me, though I won’t be making art.  It’s going to be a day of staying in PJs, having a really nice breakfast, reading my newspaper while having my second cup of joe, playing with Baby, and catching up on some tv.  In other words, a rare pleasure of doing little and relishing every moment of it.  I will probably give into guilt and end up doing some cleaning, but that’s it.  Tomorrow is another day. And besides, I DO NOT want to end up looking like this lady…and btw, the caption for this photo was (hee)  “crazy busy lady”

So, I hope you all have a really nice Sunday.  Do something you really like to do – after all, Sunday is supposed to be a day of rest (or so I’ve always thought it should be) – end enjoy every moment of it!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 10:41:55

    Sometimes we just need to block all the “shoulds” out of our mind and go for the “want to” items! Do you have room for a second table, to be reserved for the art projects?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

