WAKE UP!!!

Ever have one of those days? Today I woke to a dreary twilight at 9:30,  my eyelids heavy with sleep and me not wanting to get out of bed.  The storm is still ongoing, though it looks more like rain than sleet now.  I don’t see a lot of snow accumulation – yay!  Thank God it’s not windy out.  The tree limbs are probably super heavy, and if we had wind I’m sure there’d be plenty of snapping and breaking, and power outages.  Thank God it’s a balmy 36 degrees warm out, or we’d be buried in a lot more white.  Still, it’s the kind of day that I know will find me clumsy and foggy headed.  Even now I’m fighting the urge to crawl back into bed and surrender to slumber.  My energy levels are super low today, and accomplishing anything is going to take pure self-discipline. 

So, I’ve decided I’m going to just rest today. I have a tendency to go and go and go at top speed for some time, then need a day or two to just collapse and do little more than vegetate in front of the tv and eat and nap.  It’s always been my way.  Maybe later I’ll feel some inclination to work, but right now it’s not happening.  As I said, my hand are clumsy with arthritis from the weather so making anything will become a lesson in frustration, and forget about any kind of critical thinking.  I’m feeling very Homer-ish, as in doh!  Do you see how I’m trying to justify myself out of working today?  lol!  Well, maybe after I have a good breakfast and a nice, steamy cup o joe I’ll feel more inclined to work. 

In the meantime, the sales are still going on, automated and worry free (thank you Etsy On Sale) and my shop is brimming with all kinds of lovely bling.  If you’re in the path of the great blizzard and have decided to stay home from work today because of the weather, why not take a peek at my shop?  Just a reminder that Valentine’s day is only 2 weeks away!  If there’s something you’re wanting, don’t forget shipping will take 2-5 business days, so that narrows your buying time down considerably if you want to have it before V Day. This is crunch week to get your orders in!!

Pantone has announced that the Color of the Year for 2011 is Honeysuckle – a very pretty and vibrant shade of pink.  I’m really happy about this because I have a lot of pink toned jewelry in the shop.  “Lime Twist” is Akzo’s color name for the 2011 Color of the Year, a light, airy, citrus yellow and if you click here you can get a downloadable brochure of all the color trends for 2011.

So, that’s it for today.  The food channel is on and Sandra Lee is making me hungry, so you know where I’m headed!  Time for the chocolate chip cookies I made last night and Joe!  Have a great day! and don’t forget, the crunch week for on-line Valentine’s Day shopping is upon you!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 14:45:39

    I’ve figured out how to get over that needing a day or two to recuperate – don’t do much of anything any day. Spread it out. Like, dust one room today, another tomorrow. The day you sweep or vacuum, that’s all you do. Oh, but that doesn’t handle the making of your lovely pieces of jewelry, does it? So, go ahead, go full bore then take a day or so off. Occasionally.

    Reply

  2. cookala
    Feb 02, 2011 @ 20:41:09

    if only it were that easy! many people have told me to do just that – 1 or 2 chores a day on a rotating basis – but I find it impossible to stick to a schedulelike that. it starts off well, but by week 3 I’m back to my old ways! lol! I don’ think there’s any hope for me! It’s the artistic side of my nature! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

