TGIF!!!!!

So, at long last the end of the work week is here!!!! Yay!!!!!  Before I retired, Friday used to be my favorite day of the week. In all honesty, I found myself to be more agreeable, happier and smiling more and more frequently as the day progressed.  Sound familiar?  I guess you can tell I had little love for my job, and that’s the truth.  I was miserable there, and the people I had to work closely with were even more miserable than I was.  Not a day went by that there wasn’t some kind of conflict or back stabbing.  It got so bad that I would hide in my office as much as possible, and it was my primary reason for retiring so young in October 2009.  In retrospect, I think it was a blessing in disguise.  Now I have days where I’m my own boss and no one to argue with but myself.  Yes, it’s much more than a lot more work when you’re an entrepreneur, but it is so much more peaceful and you’re working for yourself doing something you like to do.  How much better can it get?  My only wish now is that my shop stays busy enough to supplement my pension enough so I won’t have to go back to work part-time.

What’s that she said?  Go back to work again?  Is she crazy?  

Yes, quite possibly.  But unfortunately, the shop needs to triple its sales and maintain that level of sales year-round for me to be able to stay home.  There are too many places I want to travel to, and too many art and jewelry retreats I want to attend while I am still young and health, and while my pension is a good one it’s just not enough to support all that.  Unfortunately, as much as I promote and try to build the shop up, the economy is so bad that I don’t have a lot of hope that this will come to pass in the near future. 

So, there is only one alternative that I can see – and that’s to go back to work part-time.  Honestly, the idea of that kills me.  I’ve gotten so used to getting up late and staying up late, not worrying about the weather or dealing with problem personalities, and pretty much doing whatever I want to do very quickly since retiring.  I loathe the thought of going back to work with all my might.  But the further I get into 2011, the more I’m starting to realize I may not have a choice if I want to travel and go to those retreats.   And, if this does actually come to pass, it also means I will have much less time to take care of the shop, promote it and write this daily blog.  This is not a pleasing prospect, and one I will try to avoid, but it may have  to be.

Well, enough gloomy introspection for today.  Unforseen events could still happen that would prevent  this, and I hope with all my  heart that they do!  And, as Cher said to Nicholas Cage in Moonstruck, “Snap out of it!”  and so I will try.

I made a new BESTeam member treasury to promote the team.  Everyone in BEST would truly appreciate it if you could find the time to comment or browse, and we all thank you so much.  I can speak for everyone on  the team that we’re very grateful for your support!!!  And this is where I’m going to end today.  Have a great Friday!!!!! and happy browsing!

‘BEST Ever Pretty In Pink!!’ 

So pretty in pink!! Some ultra feminine offerings from BEST Team Etsy shops!!

http://www.etsy.com/teams/5645/besteam-boosting-etsy-shops-team


Lg Personalized Miracle…

$35.00

Pink and Mint Green Han…

$26.00

5dollars OFFends FEB18 …

$12.00

Valentines Day SALE Ugl…

$12.75

Sweet Kitty Valentine&#…

$6.00

Pink and Pearls – 8 x 1…

$15.00

Handmade Necklace and L…

$56.00

A Super Sugary Mad Hatt…

$6.00

Catcher in the Rye tote

$40.00

Chrysanthemum Ring in P…

$10.95

Gryffindor House Soap

$4.95

Heathered Pink Ribbed S…

$29.00

Button Dangle Earrings …

$6.00

ON Sale Today Only 20 p…

$36.80

Composition Notebook Jo…

$8.00

Handmade earrings just …

$22.00

Treasury tool is sponsored by Lazzia.com.

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

