DAY OF REST

Sunday has become my favorite day of the week  – why?  I don’t know, I guess because of the routine I’ve established – sleeping late,  the smell of coffee and bacon and eggs, leisurely eaten while reading the Sunday paper,  checking out the circulars and cutting coupons.  I know I’ve blogged about this recently, here but I just get so much enjoyment from this little routine I can’t help but blog about it all over again.  🙂   So, ok. Enough reveling for the time being, I need to get this post written so I can get back to my day of rest. 

Yesterday, I spent a good part of the day going through 140 teams on Etsy looking for some that primarily exist for shop promotion.  I ended up joining about 2 dozen.  After I’ve had a chance to check them all out, I’ll decide which ones are the right fit and won’t take up a lot of my time to be active in.   I had to do this because I have to keep promoting my shop.   As of yesterday, Etsy has shut down the promotional forums in order to reorganize them into “teams” that have a specialty – such as promoting, or treasury making, or being from a specific geographical location, etc.  This makes promoting very inconvenient.   Now, instead of posting in the many threads in the promotional forum, you have to visit your teams and promote inside the team pages.  I think this also makes your promotional listings invisible to potential customers  who will no longer know where to look for sales and promos. 

One of the teams I applied to has turned me down – way too quickly (took an all of an hour for them to email me, makes me wonder if they even looked at my shop) and they didn’t even give me a reason why.  (btw – this team’s focus is creating treasuries for team members – which I do all the time!!! – and they’re quite large in membership)  They just said my application had been denied.  Honestly, I think that kinda stinks. They should at least have the courtesy to tell me why my shop doesn’t live up to their standards.  So I’ve emailed the captain back and asked for a reason why.  I’ll share that with you when/if I get a response.  All the other teams I joined accepted my application.  So I’m both a little surprised and a lot confused as to why.  So, that said, expect to be seeing more feature articles and treasuries popping up in the future.

So far, these 3 teams look good for me,and I like what I see in them: 

Fun and Friends Promotional Team
Handmadeology
Etsy Blog Team

I have also joined a team called Etsy Trade-a-holics where I can trade or barter what’s in my shop for something I want in another team member’s shop.  I like this one a lot!    So, I have about two dozen more teams to check out before I decide which to stay with – at most, I don’t want to belong to more than ten – it will become too time consuming.  I just won’t be able to keep up.  I’m also looking for teams that won’t demand a lot of time promoting the team.  I do want to promote, but I can only do so much so I have to limit myself to what I can handle.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CremeMagnolia
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 07:12:57

    I’m so glad you joined our team, Etsy Bloggers…you blog is beautiful and you will get a lot of exposure in the team. Rome wasn’t built in a day but promoting is something we have to stay on top of EVERY day! Thank you for a lovely read.

    Reply

  2. cookala
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 14:44:02

    Thank you so much! I’m looking forward to participating in the team activities. So glad you like my blog!

    Reply

  3. Cathy
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 21:12:16

    Well Eileen, arent you a busy BEE!
    I’d be interested in the Trade-a-holics, but I didnt see where to join the last time I was there.
    Good luck on all your endevors, too much for me to think of 🙂
    Today is my catch-up day on house stuff, being that after 3 weeks I go back to work tomorrow. Its going to be tough, since I am still not feeling well.
    I catch up to you later this week 🙂
    Cathy

    Reply

    • cookala
      Feb 07, 2011 @ 00:01:37

      hi, Cathy! thanks so much for visiting and commenting!! yes, I have been going non-stop for 2 weeks now, and I’m feeling it. Do check out Trade-a-holics again – look for “join this team” in the left side column beneath their banner.
      knowing how I would feel, it must be killing you to have to go back to work still not feeling well – you get used to being home so fast. and I’m sorry to hear your still under the weather! try t take it easy if you can, and not to get too stressed. my thoughts will be with you!

      Reply

  4. lauriebain
    Feb 07, 2011 @ 10:15:47

    Hi! I saw you on the handmadeology forum. Love your sense of humor, I enjoyed reading your posts!

    This is my first comment on a blog and I’m going to post a link to my blog here, although I’m not sure if that’s the right way of doing things! I notice that Cathy and CremeMagnolia’s names are links to their shops. I wonder how they did that?

    http://primalpainterhealingart.blogspot.com

    Reply

    • cookala
      Feb 07, 2011 @ 13:27:45

      hi, laurie! thanks so much for reading and commenting on my shop blog! I’m glad you like my sense of humor, which I label whacky. 🙂 and I’m glad you enjoyed the blog. below is a code snippet to get your signature to appear instead of the http// etc – fill in the info for your blog or shop and save it in a word doc. then just copy/paste it every time you comment on a post below your comment

      a href=”YOUR SHOP OR BLOG URL ADDRESS HERE” title=”YOUR SHOP NAME OR BLOG NAME”>Your Shop or BLog Name Here</a

      ***an important note!! in order for you to be able to see the code I had to take out the end tags – remember to add a left arrow symbol (shift-comma) to the end of the code and a right arrow symbol (shift-period) to the end of the coding or it won’t work

      good luck!! hope that's not too confusing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

