WHEN PUSH COMES TO SHOVE

Did you know that there are almost 291,000 sellers on Etsy right now?  I know!  That’s a lot!  And did you know that those sellers made Etsy a whopping $41.1 million this past December?  I know!  That’s a lot, again! Wow!  Take a look at these mind-boggling stats:

Stats straight from Etsy:

  • $41.1 million of goods were sold by our community in December, 10.1% higher than November’s $37.3 million.
  • That represents 2,152,992 items sold for the month, 4.8% higher than November’s 2,055,218.
  • 1,518,859 new items were listed in the month, 42.7% lower than November’s 2,648,660.
  • 468,814 new members joined the Etsy community in the month, up 70,603, or 17.7%, from November.
  • 940,579,465 page views were recorded on the site in December.

The $41.1 million of goods sold by the community represents a 65% increase from 2009′s total. At the same time, items sold were up 52%.

You would think, for a corporation as large and successful and wealthy as Etsy, that they would have some sort of promotional activity going on for its sellers, or at least allow their sellers to promote their shops within Etsy.  Unfortunately, that is not the case.  Etsy spends $0, nada, nil, zilch on supporting its sellers, and recently Etsy shut down the only avenue that was open to sellers to promote their shops – the promotional forums.  All Etsy is concerned about is collecting its fees – yes, we sellers must pay listing fees AND a percentage of our sales as fees to Etsy for doing business there.  Now, all that is understandable and acceptable.  But really, it just goads me that they do NOTHING to help their sellers succeed and instead thwart every effort Etsy sellers make towards that end.  You would think they would do something to support and foster the very thing that makes them so rich – the sellers!!!

Sure, they have their blogs and help forums that post informative articles on how to succeed on Etsy.  But the sellers are really on their own when it comes to promoting their shops and making sales.  It’s difficult to do any type of promotional activity on Etsy, period.  This is why so many shops are struggling on Etsy.  This is why this blog was born.  Advertising is very expensive.  I certainly cannot afford it, so I have to be creative and try to advertise for free wherever I can by self-promoting on the social media (Facebook, Twitter, Stumble Upon, etc).  Doing this eats up huge chunks of my free time.  Take one look around my house and you’ll agree I spend way, way too much time on the computer trying to grow my business. 

I know this all sounds very rantish and Etsy bashing-ish, but I just can’t help feeling a bit disgruntled by it all.  I really need to spend more time on myself, and not sitting behind this keyboard.  It’s to the point where I feel squeezed in on all sides.  I need to be doing other basic things like shopping and cleaning and socializing and sleeping before I start to lose my mind, so I am going to be making a work schedule and sticking to it.   

This will mean A LOT less time spent on the computer, and more spent on getting my life back to normal.  I have been trying to write a daily blog post, but that will probably have to change to a blog post when I can spare the time, though I am still going to try to post each day.  I will have to leave many of the groups I just joined – I just will not have enough time to actively promote them all.  I already know I will be staying with Handmadeology, Etsy Bloggers and the Fun and Friends Teams.  I am not so sure about BEST – I like the group, but they don’t seem to put much into promoting my shop while I am busting my butt promoting theirs.  I’ve been there almost a  month already and I still don’t see my shop ad on their blog site, even though I have asked about it and gotten no response.  And of the three features done on my shop, only one is really satisfactory to me.  So, I can’t help but feel very let down bu this team.  I will be making a decision about them, and also about the newer teams soon.  I have no choice about making these changes, not if I want to stay sane.  It’s just become all too much for me to be able to handle.  I know when I’ve bitten off too much.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 12:26:17

    Sometimes the best answer is just what you’re doing – step back, take a good objective look, and move forward in the direction that seems best for you. Cut the ties you need to cut and reinforce the ties you choose to keep.

    Reply

  2. cookala
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 13:52:07

    hi Carol! yes, exactly. thanks for commenting and supporting that – it wasn’t an easy decision to make. (btw, I haven’t forgotten the necklace – will be making a few up in different colors in the next day or two – will blog it when they’re listed. and thanks for your patience! 🙂

    Reply

  3. First Blush
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 00:36:59

    Thanks for visiting my blog! Great idea about keeping a work schedule. It’s almost a must when you work from home. I just joined Etsy Bloggers, but I think I might check out the Fun and Friends team too! 🙂

    Sabrina

    Reply

  4. cookala
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 04:00:04

    Hi Sabrina! You are welcome, and thanks so much for coming by to read and comment on mine! I highly recommend them both – I think there are some good people on those teams! :-))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

