ALREADY THURSDAY!

Gosh, where does the time go? I thought when I retired my life would slow down a little, that there’d be time to while away the days at the beach in the summer, time for long walks in the spring and fall, time to read and write and make art whenever, time to sit and watch the snow fall in the winter. Then along came a desire to grow my shop, and it’s ended up sucking all the free time out of my life. I guess I wouldn’t mind it so much if my sales compensated for it, but they don’t even come close.

Time is a precious commodity that most of us undervalue, at least until it seems we have little free time left for ourselves any more. I am feeling I’ve reached my limit today. Perhaps this is when I should step back for awhile, and take some time for myself. Forget about all the hours I spend promoting not just myself, but also my team mates; forget about selling jewelry, just close up shop and get a part-time job. Pack it in, leave all the responsibility and stress and self-motivation and self-discipline necessary to running an Indy business behind. Cut my losses as much as possible. Work less, enjoy my retirement.

So, I have a decision to make. I feel like I’m at the cross roads again, and I don’t know yet which road I will take. One thing I do know – running the shop has become too much for me alone to handle. It claims far, far too much of my time – to the point where I am badly neglecting other aspects of my life. I can’t continue on this path alone much longer. So, it’s either quit and get that part-time job or cut back very seriously on the time I spend promoting and running the shop. It’s not going to be easy to come to a conclusion. *sigh*

In the meantime, here’s a treasury I created the other day for the Handmadeology Team.  Enjoy!

‘MOONLIGHT ‘ by CookalasHouseOfCards

white, gray and a midge of black – all made by Handmadeology members


Vintage bracelet made w…

$29.50

Dream Shabby Cottage Wh…

$10.95

Personalized Illustrati…

$48.50

Sterling Silver full Pe…

$175.00

Felted wool brooch pin …

$23.00

Leather Wrap Bracelet w…

$36.00

Metallic thread crochet…

$12.95

The Ghastlies Super Big…

$155.00

SALE 180 real genuine p…

$12.00

Antique Brass Flower Ch…

$30.00

Sterling silver handmad…

$22.00

Black and White Fine Ar…

$10.00

Jane: Custom Birthday o…

$66.00

White Flower Rhinestone…

$18.00

SALE ENDS MAR19 Pandora…

$2.85

Fairy Wings – Black and…

$80.00

Treasury tool is sponsored by Lazzia.com A/B image testing.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carol
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 12:24:39

    The treasuries are wonderful, but maybe you need to cut back on that a bit, get what you can from your shop, do what you can for your shop, but put yourself and time to fritter or use constructively as you please first. Life is short. After I had my mastectomy and chemo I changed my thinking and spread my “must do” list out and demand less perfection for it and less time spent on it and more time for me.

    Reply

  2. cookala
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 17:42:24

    So true! Life is short, which is why I’ve begun to rethink mine completely. I’m tired. I spend my days lately glued to the computer, promoting and taking care of the shop. It’s too much for me alone to do anymore. I think, if I were making a decent profit, I would at least feel the time I’ve been investing is worth it. All this work, and I’m still running along the edge of green and red. It just isn’t worth the effort. It’s taken me awhile to reach this conclusion, and I’ve fought against it because I do enjoy it when it’s not overwhelming me. I’ve decided to withdraw from BEST and EtsyBloggers because they eat up of a large amount of my time. I will stay with Handmadeology and EBT because there isn’t alot of work involved other than some promoting when time allows, but it’s not a must-do thing like the other groups and I don’t have to write any features. I have been unhappy with BEST anyway, and now they want a minimum of 25 blog subscribers which I don’t have, so… The treasuries are quick to make, and they are good promotional tools, so I will keep doing those but not as often. As far as the shop goes, I think I will do shipping once a week instead of every day. Right now I’m thinking I might just slash prices to cost on everything, sell what I can and close up shop period. As much as I hate the idea of part-time work, it will be less demanding in many ways 20 hrs a week as opposed to @ 80 hrs or more spent on promoting and the shop, much less responsibility, or a different type of it, and when I leave that PT job, I leave it behind and go home to do whatever I want. It’s looking more an more like the way for me to go.
    Thanks for your comments – I appreciate your input – it helps. 🙂
    blessings
    Eileen

    Reply

  3. Tammy/FancieStrands
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 09:08:14

    Thank you for taking the time to make such a pretty treasury and for including me-FancieStrands. Have a relaxing day!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

