A FEW GRIPES, AND SOME THANK YOU’S!!

Well, before I get into it, I think it’s best to say a word of thanks! to my customers – too many to list again, and I know it wasn’t too long ago that I did this!!  The shop’s been thankfully and gratefully very busy.  I can’t thank you all enough for your support, I really do appreciate it in these tough times!!!  I also need to say thanks to a few of my fellow Etsians for their support – so thank you!!! to CallofEarth, xxxannab3113xxx, doodleprincess, LizabethDezigns, BHBKidstyle,consentiodesign, simplysuzie2, mapleleaves8 and Bonnie from AidForAbby for incuding me in your treasuries here and here and here and here and here and here and here and here and here.

Okay, onto the gripes.  What is it with some people who ask me to make them a reserve listing IMMEDIATELY!!! and then don’t purchase it?  And what is it with some people who want you to design a customized bracelet for them, take up hours of your time doing it, and then not make the purchase?  Don’t these people realize it costs money for listing fees and time spent going back and forth with them to get their piece of jewelry just the way they want it, taking photos umpteem times for their approval, taking out this bead and replacing it with that one, and ten million other things – it’s a lot of work. *BIG SIGH*

I just don’t get it.  What ever happened to common courtesy and good manners?  Yes, as a shop owner I am more than happy to help my customers with their needs and yes, I am more than happy to spend the time doing it.  Honestly, I really do not mind taking time out of my busy day to create a piece of  jewelry for a customer knowing that it will be cherished forever.  It gives me joy to make other people happy.  I really do love collaborating with my customers that way.  What I don’t understand is why someone would use me that way to get their sick kicks – because that is how I am made to feel – like I’ve been played for a fool.   Why else would someone have me make a listing without intending to purchase it?  Why else would someone make me spend several hours helping them put together a customized piece of jewelry without intending to ever wear it? 

These people are sick.  They need to feel good about themselves by getting their jollies in sick ways.  And you know who you are.  I hope you read this.  All I can say is that you may have gotten your sick brand of entertainment at my expense but there’s such a thing as karma – and I firmly believe that someday when you least expect it, it will catch up to you and you will definitely deserve what you get. 

Gosh, I even had a new customer berate recently me after making their purchase that my postage rates were too high and they were also very upset because I don’t ship international every day and because of that they would probably not buy from me again.  *BIG SIGH #2*  I emailed this person back, and politely explained that my postage rates may seem high but it’s because I include Etsy and Paypal fees (and sometimes insurance if it’s a big order) in my rates.  If I don’t do that my customers pay fees on fees, which I think is unfair to them.  I explained that I only go to the PO once a week because gas is very expensive and so is time.  I even offered to cancel the purchase because they had remarked about wanting to do that, but they said not to.  *sigh*  Maybe could it be that even with the high postage rates they are still getting the goods for less money then they’d pay at another Etsy shop?  Ya think?  So why then abuse this hard-working shop owner who tries so hard to please all her customers?  To what end?  What purpose does it serve?  As a shop owner does that make me a whipping post for their angst? 

What is wrong with these people?!?!??!!??!

So, ok.  I feel better now getting that out.  I’m usually a very patient and understanding person, but sometimes it just becomes too much, you know?  Well, I hope I didn’t scare the rest of you off – I don’t want to come across as a nasty you-know-what so and so – because I’m generally not.  I’m also at a bit of a loss about how to avoid this type of person, and how to deal with them.  I will have to think about this and how to stop it from happening as often as it does.  The only thing I can think of is to ask every new customer I get a series of questions about their intent, and hope and pray that I don’t insult or scare them off! 

So, that’s about all for today.  I have to go to the Post Office to send out international orders today, and then I’m off to the beach if the weather is good enough.  I’ve been cooped up in the house with the a/c full blast for 4 days now – I hope this heat and humidity wave breaks soon!!  It’s even been too hot for the beach, and even with the a/c going at the max the temperature is still anywhere from 78-82 degrees because of LIPA cutting back (even the fans are midge slower).  I think I need to get out, and just breathe and forget the shop for a while.

Leave a Reply

Copyright Protection and Terms of Use

All photos displayed on this blog are protected by copyright and may not be displayed without prior consent of their creators. If you wish to obtain consent, please do so by contacting the owner in the photo link. Photographs labeled as public domain are believed to be so in good faith. All other rights reserved. Any photos, materials, or text sections which do not have a link are the copyright of the owner(s) of this blog and consent for use may be requested by contacting blog owner

All content © 2011 by Cookalas Pretty Things. Powered by Wordpress.com

